Weigh-In and Progress Notes, New Camera, and My Pathetic Attempts at De-Stressing

Hello there!

So I was supposed to post yesterday but… sleep happened.

I always feel exhausted these days, but the times that I actually feel like I could fall asleep is so far and few in between that when it started coming on last night, I said “heck with my blog!” and dove for the covers. And slept. For hours.

*bliss*

Here’s what I’ve been up to:

Weigh-In

Good news: I definitely lost weight

Kinda bad news: I have no idea how much

2013-08-28-u

You see all those numbers? They were all taken in a span of around ten minutes. It would seem that every time I pick up my scale and weigh myself in a different part of the house – whether it may be my bathroom, kitchen, dining room, foyer – a different number pops up. Hmm.

At the end, though, it really doesn’t matter how much, just that I did, right? Right! Sooo I’m going nail this down as a 1/2 lb loss for now. Yippee!

Progress Notes

What’s been working:

  • Trusting my body over my mind. My mind can be so deceiving! While under a lot of stress, my mind continuously told me that I wasn’t hungry and that food makes me nauseous. However, when I noticed my hands shaking, my focus wavering, and my irritable levels rising, I ate despite my mind’s arguments and I actually felt so much better. Same goes with when I want to eat more after I’m done with my meal; I make myself wait ten minutes, and you know what? I can feel that I’m full.
  • Forcing myself to be “less” Type A. I could have worked out anyway when I had 1000 things on my to do list, but I opted to skip the workout to accomplish my tasks. I did okay with it here and there, but there is always more to be improved in this area.

I need to work on:

  • My caffeine intake. It’s been so hard to get quality sleep around here that I’ve been using coffee and Diet Coke as a crutch to get through my day. About once a year, I tend to switch from coffee to green tea for about half a year before I start to crave coffee again. I may have to make that switch, but until then, I really need to make sure I don’t drink more than one Diet Coke a week.
  • Managing stress. Ugh, I am so irritable these days! I wish I could just take off to some island somewhere. I may make it a mission this weekend to do absolutely nothing but hike and spend quality time with my man and my doggy.

Wednesday Morning Mentions

I tried to “sleep in” until about six, but some morning madness concerning my man and our coffeemaker caused me to get up earlier. It’s okay though, because getting up earlier means that much more added time to my day. (Ha, how’s that for thinking positive!)

IMG_2522

Vanilla nut coffee with soy creamer. Just what the doctor ordered. Spot the cat and dog!

Fitness

On today’s fitness agenda:

C25k Week 4

A new week, woo!

Though doable, the five minute runs felt like five hours. Bruno did okay (he did exceptionally well sprinting uphill with me chasing him from behind – ack!), but I was dyin! I was so happy when we were done finally.

IMG_2526

It’s so weird: I’ve done the C25k program so many times, yet each time I repeat the program and come upon a new week, it still feels as mentally difficult as it did the first time. Anyone else get this way too?

IMG_2525

Breakfast

IMG_2530

IMG_2531

Those beautiful bananas I bought last week at Costco are turning brown quickly, so you’ll see me repeat the Two Ingredient Pancake a few more times. I can’t believe I went from not being into this breakfast to having it almost every day. Love the protein punch!

In the pancake mix: four egg whites (taken directly from eggs), one small banana, cinnamon, and a splash of vanilla

In the Greek yogurt mix: 4 oz Greek yogurt, 1 tsp sweetener, cinnamon, and a splash of vanilla

Topped with a banana slices from another small banana.

Result: YUM.

New Camera

Sometime after breakfast, I decided to take a break and do something fun: play with my new camera!

2013-08-029

We actually bought this Tuesday evening, but I was so tired and stressed that I didn’t even want to think about touching it until my to do list for the day was done. Although did have a ton of things to do today, I was feeling almost at the top of my “can’t take this anymore” and opted for a break.

Some practice pics I took with my new toy (still figuring out the flash – I hate flash!)

IMG_0007

IMG_0025

IMG_0048

IMG_0179

IMG_0006

IMG_0036

So weird on how comfortable I feel not wearing make up or doing my hair in just about every picture I post on here daily…

Lunch

Today quickly became a busy day when we received word that a prospective buyer wanted to see our house Thursday afternoon. Getting the house ready for pictures was one thing (you can always hide dust!), but having people come over and scrutinize your home? Gahhhh!

Thanks to stress, I didn’t feel hungry, but my body told me in its own ways that I needed food. I decided to whip up something with a ton of protein:

IMG_0103

IMG_0111

I made an impromptu veggie egg white omelette with 1 cup egg substitute + a boxed salad, and topped it with salsa and Cholula. Fantastic!

Hey, you want to see a blooper? Here it is:

IMG_0115

Where there’s food, Bruno will always be nearby.

Post-lunch was a little weird. I think between exhaustion, stress, and finally feeding my hunger my body became overwhelmed and shut itself down. I remember feeling like I had to lay down, and before I knew it, I somehow awoke on a pillow that I’d drooled all over? (eh, sorry for the TMI) It was not a nap by my choice, but it managed to supply me with a slight zap of energy to help me continue down my long To Do list.

IMG_0157

Dinner

Later in the afternoon, we did a bit of house hunting. The houses we saw were so depressing that I almost asked my fiance to stop by a gas station for me to buy two bags of Gardetto’s. What saved us was the brisket cooking itself pretty in the slower cooker at home – saved by the brisket!

IMG_0189

IMG_0198

That would be tender, moist brisket with a stewed carrots, steamed green beans and bucketload of cauliflower rice (seasoned with garlic powder, onion powder, salt and pepper). Best.Dinner.Everrrrrrrr.

My brisket dinner was promptly followed by frozen grapes and then some good, hard zzzz’s. *happy*

Thursday Morning Mentions

I woke up extra bright and early this a.m. in anticipation for the first showing of our house! I was so anxious about all the things I had to do that I was actually the first one up, i think. Now that never happens around here, at least not in the last couple of years.

(By the way, the term “bright and early” is so deceiving, as the sun was nowhere near up! It was more “dark and early.” Just a thought.)

IMG_0225

Coffeeeeeeee, get into meeeeeeee. Spot the cat!

Some happenings around the house this a.m.:

IMG_0232

IMG_0265

Where there’s fur, there’s action around here. 😉

Thursday Breakfast

There was no fitness today because I was too busy! Plus, my entire morning was spent wiping, mopping, dusting, lifting, stashing, and pushing, so who’s to say that isn’t a workout in itself? 😀

IMG_0271

IMG_0278

Two Ingredient Pancake … again. Yup. Let’s just say I’m making good progress on those bananas. 😉

Lunch

Lunch didn’t get eaten until very late – like 3 pm late! – because of the noon showing of our house plus some work I had to do. I probably would have went through the day without eating lunch, but I forced myself to eat. I sure am glad I did because it turns out I was pretty hungry!

IMG_0302

IMG_0297

One of my boxed salads tossed with balsamic vinegar then topped with shredded chicken thigh and ground black pepper. Delish!

And guess who was waiting patiently nearby while I took my food pics?

IMG_0286

If it’s not Bruno, it’s ways Zack. Always one or the other with these two.

Some afternoon shenanigans:

IMG_0345

IMG_0352

That would be about how I look when i’m tired, stressed and anxious. 😦

Dinner

So here I was – 4 pm and alone in the house at last! – with big plans to veg on the couch, eat some dinner, blog and then maybe pass out when I got this text about how someone else wanted to see the house in two hours.

YIKES!

Just when I put my house back together, I flew off the couch to put my house back into showcase condition, wiped down things that I touched, re-swept the floor (three pets shed a TON of fur in just minutes, especially against a dark wood floor), and re-stashed my entire life back into cabinets. I nuked my dinner and flew out the door just in time with the dog. (Kitties stay at home)

IMG_0413

IMG_0417

That would be my lovely leftover brisket dinner that I would have loved to eat on a plate but instead ate out of a plastic container in the car a block away from my house.

Such a glamorous life.

By the time I finally made it back to my house, fed the dog, and put the house back together, I was BUSHED! And a bit peeved that I’d been going non-stop since 5 am until I sat down at almost 8 pm. I tell ya, when we end up selling this house, I am going to hold my own private dance party with my animals and then pass out for 14 hours. Big fancy plans there, you just wait!

And yes, frozen grapes did follow dinner. 🙂

Well, those are my two days! I hope you are had a happy, healthy day. See ya tomorrow!

P.S. Posting pics of my house tomorrow 😀

Leave a comment