A Week of Not Sleeping

I haven’t slept – like really slept – in about a week.

As a result, I’ve been ultra irritable, incapable of focusing on any task, and, of course, exhausted.

What is going on you ask?

We are currently selling our house – and by dog – it is one of the most stressful things I have ever dealt with in my life. And here I thought buying was stressful – selling is 10x so! (At least with buying a house, you are fueled by excitement. Selling, you are filled with fright and nerves.)

After spending days packing and hours staging my house today, I am mostly done with Part I of the stressful stuff. The realtor came by today and took some fabulous pictures – of which I’ll post when our house closes! – which means I can now at least live in my house with the things I need, instead of stashing things away to make counters look larger, the living room look more spacious, and the patio area picturesque for a potential buyer to fantasize entertaining a group of close friends for an evening.

Although my stress level is the lowest it’s been in about a week, the craziness is just beginning. There is still the matter of making a quick scram outta the house when we get the call for a showing, figuring out what new area to move to, looking for a new house to live in, decide what to do with the animals when we are moving, budget and plan for the move (ew! I hate moving.), and then changing my address with 10,000 different companies. I wish I could snap my fingers and be in my new house already. Siiiigh.

Any advice for me about moving two senior cats and a bat crazy dog?

Morning Mentions

IMG_2410

COFFEE! Oh how I needed it this morning. You always know how tired you are based on how long it takes to feel the wonderful effects of caffeine. It took me probably a good hour for these eyelids to finally open more than its halfway point. Spot the dog!

IMG_2413

Fitness

With the fantastic effects of caffeine flowing smoothly through my veins, it was time for Bruno and I to workout.

On today’s fitness agenda:

C25k W3.5 - Mod 2

Just last Friday I was mentioning about how I may need another week of this program, but you know what? I think I may be ready for Week 4! Isn’t it incredible how quickly the body adapts?

img_2417.jpg

There was no Strength Training today because I was too crazy busy! However, I was incredibly active from the time I woke up until the minute right before I started typing this blog. With all the lifting I had to do, it might as well be considered ST, right?

Breakfast

Today’s delicious brekkie was a repeat from Friday:

img_2426.jpg

img_2428.jpg

Kashi waffles topped with sweetened Greek yogurt mix and topped with baked peaches. YUM!

Into the Greek yogurt mix: 4 oz plain Greek yogurt, sweetener, cinnamon, a splash of vanilla extract, and the juices from the peaches after it was microwaved (for 1 min).

In irrelevant news, as I was photographing my breakfast, I noticed these on-goings:

???????????????????????????????

img_2423.jpg

This is a BIG deal, folks, because Bruno and Zacky are usually harassing each other, but here they are NAPPING together! And they are *this* close to spooning. Finally, my two furbabies are getting along! Squeeee!

Lunch

Starting right after breakfast, I was heinously busy packing, cleaning and re-arranging. All that moving around made me HUNGRY!

img_2431.jpg

IMG_2433

Today’s lunch was awesomely fast yet tasty because of all the salads I prepped on Friday. I drizzled some balsamic vinegar on the salad, then topped it with a chicken thigh last night from the rotisserie chicken I bought last Thursday. (I froze them last week and defrost them in the fridge the night before the day I plan on eating the chicken).

Dinner

Have you staged a house before? It’s time-consuming and a bit harrowing if it’s your own house, but actually a lot of fun. One of my favorite things I did with my house was dress up my patio as if I was expecting company for dinner and some wine. In another part of my patio, I set up two chairs and small table, then added a tray containing two cups and saucer and a newspaper. While it looked pretty amazing, I immediately felt regretful that we never used our lovey patio more than a few times in the six year we’ve lived in this house. Hmm, we may have to plan a dinner outside this week sometime!

img_2438.jpg

img_2441.jpg

Dinner tonight: carnitas, cauliflower Spanish “rice,” and steamed green beans. Easy, quick and delicious!

For the Spanish rice, I just mixed the cauliflower with some chunky salsa. I purposely omitted the garlic and onion powders, and I think I like it better this way.

Thankfully, I used only one of the two pouches of carnitas that it came with (Costco), so you won’t be seeing me repeat carnitas meals for days on end as I did in the past.

Post supper, my customary frozen grapes. 😀

Well, that was my day! I hope you had a day that as wonderful and a whoooole lot less stressful as mine. I’ll be catching up on some blogs tonight then hitting the hay. I have a feeling i’ll be able to sleep tonight!

See ya tomorrow,

Leave a Reply

