Cheat Meal Strategies + Food Prep Part I

Whew, I am so grateful that Friday is practically here. I am sooo done with this week.

Today was a particularly difficult day for me:

  1. First, I woke up to my fiance asking about the coffee machine because apparently I forgot to put water in it last night for this morning’s program. Whoops!
  2. Almost immediately after, the sprinklers for our front lawn came on mysteriously as he was leaving, which turned out to be because of that nutty screw we need to replace in the sprinkler system. I spent a few minutes cursing at my failed attempts to turn the screw with a flathead screwdriver in the dark, since the sun hasn’t come up yet. These problems are AWESOME at dawn!
  3. My laptop decided that it wanted to go to computer heaven. AHHH! I just love computer problems. I spent the rest of the day fretting about spending who-knows-how-much on a new computer and trying in vain to save it all while trying to figure out how to complete work in between.
  4. Because I was so darn busy, I didn’t make it Costco until the afternoon. LATE afternoon. As in when all the samples are out and the casual shoppers are moseying about (versus right when Costco opens, which are when the pros shop; they are no nonsense and all business – love them!). I was so stressed out that I broke down and took down two or three samples and was *this* close to swiping a sample of some chocolate or other. Bleh.

Despite all the challenged I faced today, I admit that the day did end well. Looking back, I was pretty darn productive today! I got a ton of work done, prepped a bunch of food, and … RESUSCITATED MY COMPUTER. Hallelujah, says my wallet! Whew.

Cheat Meal Strategies

After last Saturday’s 3000 calorie day (plus all the extra sugar I consumed in the days after), it’s become evident that I need a strategy when eating my cheat meals. Whatever the plan may be, it has to be sustainable over my lifetime, because I don’t plan on pigging out on a daily basis when I achieve my goal weight – after all, isn’t the weight loss process practice for the maintenance phase? 😉

  1. Drink an entire glass of water first. Actually, I should be doing this before each meal, anyway.
  2. Eat a salad FIRST. Fill up some of that tummy space BEFORE I eat the cheat meal.
  3. If it’s particularly high-caloric, split the serving in half. I will help this along by bringing a tupperware with me (hidden in my GINORMOUS purse!) so I can do this immediately. I may eat the other half later in the day or night, but the important thing for me is that I don’t eat it in one sitting.
  4. CHEW! Namely, enjoy each luscious bite. Not only will chewing slowly take up more of the 20 minutes it takes to fill up, but I should really be savoring and appreciating each taste I take.
  5. NO DESSERT, that is, unless it’s fruit or something sugar-free. I don’t mind eating dessert, it’s the sugar that creates that crazy binging cycle.every.time. No, no, NO!
  6. Try my best to fit in a workout that morning. They say it helps you make better nutrition decisions throughout the day, and for me, it works probably 85% of the time.

Do you have any suggestions on cheat meals? I’d love to hear them!

Morning Mentions

I managed to beat the sun this morning. Is it me or is the sun rising later now?

After I got the coffeemaker going, I enjoyed myself a mug:

IMG_2196

Spot the dog!

Some furry action from this a.m.:

IMG_2197

IMG_2198

IMG_2203

IMG_2216

IMG_2221

The dog looks huge next to the cats!

Fitness

On today’s fitness agenda: active rest day – 40 minute walk

IMG_2227

After a super stressful morning, I absolutely needed this walk. There’s nothing like a stroll around the neighborhood with Bruno to relieve that stress!

IMG_2225

Breakfast

Today’s breakfast was easy and fast:

IMG_2230

IMG_2233

Overnight oats with peaches. MMMM. Into the mix: 1/3 cup oatmeal, 4 oz plain unsweetened Greek yogurt, 1/3 cup unsweetened almond milk, 1 tsp sweetener, a drop of vanilla extract, cinnamon, 1/2 tbsp chia seeds, and microwaved peaches (with juice that oozed after cooking – yum!).

I’ve never been a lover of peaches, but my peach tree bore me fruit this year (hooray!!), lending myself an opportunity to make better friends with the fruit. I’ve found that they are especially yummy when microwaved for one minute; they come out tasting just like the peaches that come in cans and jars, but without added sugary and syrup. Look out for more peachy breakfasts coming up!

Lunch

IMG_2237

IMG_2240

I used the last of the taco meat on top of my salad today, along with a few shakes of hot sauce. Easy, fast,delicious, and filling.

Food Prep

After lunch, I went to Costco for another food haul and started prepping food when I got back. Since I started so late, I was only able to do half, with the rest to do tomorrow. Here’s what I did today:

2013-08-22

Rotisserie chicken is always sooo good, but at $4.99 per entire chicken at Costo? It tastes even more delicious! Haha.

I peeled the skin off the entire chicken and broke it into several pieces for easy grabs later. I have one breast in the fridge for tomorrow’s lunch and the rest in the freezer for next week’s meals.

2013-08-221

Cauliflower rice, heya! Costco actually sold cauliflower by the bags today, so I had to snag two – so much easier than cutting the heads myself. By the way, if you use a food processor, I recommend that you use the shredding disc/blade. The texture of the shredding disc will actually make the “rice” texture resemble uncannily close to real rice. I think standard blades are better for making cauliflower mashed potatoes. Anyway, found that out today and thought I’d pass it on. 😀

2013-08-222

Trimmed green bean, perfect for a two minute steam in the microwave or a quick saute. (FYI, Bruno got some for dinner night and he approves!)

Dinner

I had the house to myself tonight, so I had the pleasure of a night off from cooking – yippee!

IMG_2251

IMG_2254

Dinner came from today’s bounty: rotisserie chicken breast, steamed green beans and cauliflower “rice (seasoned with garlic powder, onion powder, salt and pepper).

I closed up the evening with a serving of frozen grapes. Mmm!

Positive Wrap-Up

When I’ve had a difficult day, I like to end it by listing a few positive things before I got to bed. It’s something I like to do sometimes so I can actually wrap up the day in a good note so that I can wake up tomorrow like it truly is a new day.

Since I listed four challenges I faced in the beginning of this post, I will match it by listing four positive things that happened today:

  1. The cashier at Costco gave me all my discounts even though I forgot to show her my coupon book.
  2. My dog was extremely good today and went bat-crazy only a handful of times.
  3. Our dog’s daycare/kennel told my fiance that Bruno was their favorite dog!
  4. I fixed my laptop! I know I mentioned this already, but since our entire business relies on my laptop, it is such a relief that I won’t be sidelined at all for the sake of buying a new computer then spending all that time installing my programs and such. WHEW.

By the way, I’ll be attending a baseball game tomorrow night, so there’s a slight chance that I won’t post tomorrow. Wish me luck on making good food decisions – because I’m gonna need it!

I hope your day was better than mine. If not, then hold on – it’s almost Friday. 🙂

See ya tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

