Monday Moves

I’m trying to be peppy for Monday, but it’s hard when you’re exhausted.

Good news though? I’m a couch potato at the moment, recouping energy.

A few more days of this, plus less stress and decent bedtime hours and I should be good in no time.

Here’s hoping!

Morning Mentions

How did I ever in my 20s go to bed after midnight and yet still wake up at 6 am for work?! At 33, I am finding that going to bed at 11 pm and waking up at 6 am is pure torture. Ideally, I need to be making honkshoos at 9:30 pm to wake up at that witching hour. Aren’t we supposed to be sleeping less as we age? At this rate, I will be the only 75 year old who needs 8-9 hours of sleep a night! :-O

I wasn’t alone in this, however. Guess who stayed in bed as I unhappily unwrapped myself out of my warm and comfy cocoon?

IMG_1910

Yep. THAT sleepyhead. He always makes me look really good in the lazy wake-up department.

With a slow, stumbling start like I had this a.m., I needed this badly:

IMG_1914

The last of my delicious Vanilla Biscotti flavored coffee. Spot the cat!

I slowly moseyed about the house, starting on my work and an hour later, this guy was still in bed:

IMG_1920

The only way I could convince that dog to get out of bed was to start his breakfast. Ha, he’s motivated like his mama, isn’t he! 😛

Fitness

Rounding the dog up for our workout took some effort this morning, but we managed to get it together:

IMG_1940

IMG_1942

IMG_1945

On today’s fitness agenda:

C25k W3.5 - Mod 2

I have to say, for a sleepy dog, he did well! (Er … even better than me at times :oops:) I even think we made it home faster than the other times we’ve done this program:

IMG_1947

Post workout stretch was AMAZING. I am not a naturally flexible person at all – it was a major feat for me to even touch my toes! Stretching for flexibility now is not only something I enjoy as a challenge to what I never could do, but it’s also become a wonderful ten minutes of meditation. I always finish feeling wildly refreshed and ready to tackle my day.

Oh! And before I forget, I was so excited to actually capture this today:

IMG_1962

Cat napping parties happen every morning, but today they actually allowed the dog to join them. Miracle!

It’s too bad though that this lasted for a total of 3.4 minutes. After this, Bruno went TEARING through the house like a mad dog.

Good news? Bruno is now so much more fit that these workouts no longer tire him out.

Bad news? Bruno is now so much more fit that these workouts no longer tire him out.

Ha.

IMG_1936

Breakfast

IMG_1964

IMG_1968

I had about five spotting bananas that I had to get rid of ASAP so I made Two Ingredients Pancake again. You know, I wasn’t entirely sure about this recipe when I first tried it, but I think it’s growing on me! Into the mix: 1 small banana + 2 egg whites + 1/4 cup egg substitute + vanilla extract + cinnamon. Topping: 4 oz Greek Yogurt, 1 tsp sweetener, cinnamon, sliced bananas. YUM.

Fitness II

After completing some more work, it was time to do some ST!

Last week, the Sweat + Shape program on my Nike Training app kicked my butt so much that I was already dying during the warm-up and ended up completing only 20 of the 30 minutes.

The thing is, I hate failing. Specifically, I hate failing things that I once succeeded, so of course I had to try this again.

And guess what? I finished it this time!

2013-08-19 12.04.04

It was a super sweaty workout and I was plenty tired afterwards, but feeling very accomplished. Wooohoooo! Muscles here we come. :mrgreen:

Lunch

While I was completing my round of ST, Bruno was still running around, harassing cats and grabbing things. It wasn’t until lunchtime that he finally settled down for a nap! That dog is the like the Energizer bunny these days. 🙄

I made something different today for lunch! It started with the fact that I didn’t have much protein in my fridge for my salads, so I had to think quick about what to put together and came up with this:

Veggie Egg White Frittata

2013-08-19-up

Basically I took the following

  • Pam cooking spray
  • 1 boxed salad
  • Onion powder
  • Garlic powder
  • Salt and Pepper
  • 2 tbsp Salad olives with pimentos
  • 1 cup egg substitute
  • 1/2 cup salsa

And did this:

  1. Spray a pan with Pam, then heat on medium flame.
  2. Toss the contents of a boxed salad
  3. Add: onion powder, garlic powder, salt and peppers. When the vegetables are cooked a bit, add two tbsp of salad olives with minced pimentos. Pour one cup of egg substitute, cover until cooked through.
  4. Use a pancake spatula to separate the frittata from the pan and place on a plate. Serve with salsa.

IMG_2016

IMG_2028

It looked good, but … it needed some work:

IMG_2032

IMG_2038

Salsa!!! But… I still needed a little somethin’ somethin’…

IMG_2039

YES!!! Everything tastes better with Cholula. 😛

It was a fantastic change from my usual lunch salad, and at 282 calories, it packs a huge protein punch at 30 grams. Woo!

If you’re interested in trying this but can afford more calories, I would recommend adding 1/4 cup of shredded swiss (100 calories) right before you serve it  or even adding a few cubes of ham. I think a nice slice of bread with a small bit of jam would be perfect as well. Ah, here I am wishing I wasn’t so short so that I could eat more! 😛

Dinner

After a busy day, I was too bushed to make dinner, so we ordered in:

IMG_2050

Grilled chicken over salad. Actually, what I really ordered was something like honey grilled chicken or something, but the meat was plain jane to my disappointment. After a few drizzles of balsamic vinegar, it was tasting okay.

But, um, remember that cheesecake I had on Saturday night? That sugar has been messing with my head! I broke down after dinner and snuck in half a slice of full sugar banana bread and a Snickers mini. I was about to continue my tear, but somehow I was able to shut it down before it got bad. Anyway, all I need is just one sugar-free week to reset my sugar addiction again. I can do it, I will do it!

And with that, I started my sugar-free “here on out” with a serving of frozen grapes.

And while I was munching on grapes, this was happening:

IMG_2053

That would be Bruno silently begging for a bite of my fiance’s cheesecake. And when it became clear that he wasn’t getting any, he came over to me:

IMG_2057

Um, no grapes for you, dude!

Well, that was my day! I hope you had a great start to the week. See ya tomorrow!

P.S. I was just looking at my pictures and wow are they are crummy and blurry! I think I need a new camera. 😐

Leave a Reply

