Wednesday Weigh-In and Progress Notes (Plus: Food Prep Day)

It’s Hump Day! Which means…

It’s Weigh-In Wednesday! 😀

Weigh In

Starting Weight: 119.4

7/31 Weigh In: 117.9 (-1.5 lbs)

8/7 Weigh In: 115.7 (-2.2 lbs)

Today’s Weigh In:

That would be a 1.2 lb loss, for a total loss of 4.9 lbs or 4.1% of my starting weight. Woohoo!

What’s Working:

  • Making healthy eating and workouts a priority (really, the latter happens because of the dog, ha)
  • No sugar: I’m craving fruit and everything tastes so much sweeter
  • Including my dog in my workout program. He’s teaching me patience and his hesitance in running so fast all the time forces me to pace myself and prevent burnout.
  • Eating less in general. My appetite is satiable at last!
  • Drinking lots of liquid. I am so much more sensitive to thirst now.

I Need to Work on:

  • My current ST plan. It makes me miserable. I need something effective and non-time consuming.
  • Varying my meals
  • Maybe I can get up even earlier?
  • Strageties on cheat meals

Fitness

I woke up bright and early, but it was a hectic one! It would seem that I’ve adjusted my new early wake-up time a little too well and am back to creating chaos. So tomorrow I will try getting up 15 minutes earlier. We shall see.

I started my day with this:

No cat today. One stayed in bed and the other chose to pig out. 😛

For our workout today, we finally tackled my new modified C25k Week 3:

C25k W3.5 - Mod 2

This time, my Garmin was programmed correctly – yay!

Our workout ended up being a total of 50 minutes instead of the regular 40 because for some reason this program covered less ground? *shrug* Bruno was pleased though, because that meant he got extra sniffing time!

Post-workout, I’ve had a hard time stretching lately. It seems that my dog knows my routine so well that he insists on being in the room with me to stretch – and lay on my yoga mat for a nap to boot! This really puts a kink into my routine.

Today, I decided to try to lock him out, but then this happened:

That would be Bruno sticking his paw in the door so I couldn’t close it. But it didn’t stop there:

He laid his FACE in there. And then:

That would be an action shot of Bruno busting in through the door.

Which meant another morning where I stretched around him again. *sigh*

One of these days I will figure it out.

P.S. No ST today because, frankly, my butt and thighs are still sore in the most humiliating fashion. I’ll probably give my muscles a rest and try again on Monday.

Breakfast

IMG_1576

Vans Light Waffle with sweetened Greek Yogurt and topped with sliced bananas. Slightly different, but very satisfying. (Note: I have a ton of bananas just starting to spot beautifully hanging in my kitchen…)

Lunch

Post breakfast was a little crazy. Not only did I have work to do, but we currently have someone working in the inside of our house, which meant that I had to hide a dog and two cats inside my small office.

Let me just say, it was like prepping for Armageddon:

2013-08-14 11.26.22

After quite a few screeches, growls, paw swipes, and other general sounds and actions to voice their dissatisfaction, the four of us finally (kinda) settled down:

IMG_1581

To be honest, I wasn’t sure how I was going to make it alive out of there! 😕

For lunch:

Boxed salad topped with roasted chicken thigh and salsa. I’m almost done with my chicken, I wonder what protein will be next?

Food Prep

Since the salad from lunch was my last (eight boxes went quick!), I had to make another batch:

2013-08-14

And while I was at it, I figured, why not prep some cauliflower rice since I was out of that too:

2013-08-015

And now my fridge is filled with healthy noms again!

IMG_1621

By the way, while prepping all these foods, I surprisingly became the recipient of the worst cut in my entire life. My finger would not stop bleeding! I ran into the master bath and bled all the over the sink and then proceeded to soak through two band aids – blood was squirting everywhere like a murder scene. I eventually got it to stop, but I tell you – I am not the queasy type around blood, but today I was about to faint from the sight. It was a bit of nauseating experience, but I think I will live. 😉

???????????????????????????????

Dinner

On the menu tonight: steaks!

The steaks had been bathing in my favorite marinade: 1/2 cup olive oil, 1/4 cup low sodium soy sauce, 4 tsp Low Sodium Montreal Steak Seasoning. Usually I let them sit in a dish and flip them every few hours, but today I marinaded them in a ziploc bag instead. I have to tell ya, I like the bag method more! It flavor just seems to soak into the meat so much better.

Filet mignon (Costco, baby!), and my becoming-customary cauliflower rice (spiced with onion powder, garlic powder, soy sauce, balsamic vinegar, and S&P) and steamed beans.

Note about the cauliflower rice: I accidentally shook the garlic powder too hard so that the top came off and a TON of it spilled onto the rice. I didn’t want to waste it, so I quickly added a little soy sauce and balsamic vinegar to combat it. I still ate it and … let’s just say I won’t be doing any kissing tonight. 😳

Frozen grapes followed the dinner, of course. :mrgreen:

Random

I briefly caught this little exchange today right after breakfast:

IMG_1587

Um, did they kiss? I’m not sure, since I was too far away. It did melt my little heart though!

Well, that wraps up my day. It was a busy one today but a good one overall, and I hope yours was the same! See ya tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

