The ST That Nearly Killed Me

And… It’s Monday!

Fitness

Despite my accidental three-hour nap yesterday afternoon, when it came time to sleep, I was more than happy to lay this head down last night for some more zzz’s.

I did tell you that aside from eating, sleeping is one of my other hobbies, right? 😉

As a result of all the zzz’s I got in, I managed to wake up at my new earlier time again. I’m hoping I can manage to continue this new habit this week! 😀

After I bumbled out of bed, I started my morning with this:

We started a new flavor today, Vanilla Nut. Exactly what the doctor ordered. Spot the cat!

So for today’s workout, Bruno and I were supposed to start a new modified version of C25k Week 3, but guess who programmed the Garmin wrong? Umm, yeah.

We were supposed to run five intervals at three minutes each and walking 90 seconds in between, but my program came out to four intervals of running 90 seconds with walking breaks of another 90 seconds, with a last fifth interval of three minutes of running. Whoops!

When I realized the mistake, I quickly decided that we would repeat today’s workout. The original plan would have had us run for a total of 15 minutes, but today we ended up running a total of 18 minutes.

Next time!

Breakfast

???????????????????????????????

Today’s brekkie was quicker than quick: overnight oats with strawberries.

Into the mix: 1/3 cup oatmeal, 1/3 unsweetened almond milk, 4 oz Greek yogurt, 1/2 tbsp chia seeds, and 1 tsp sweetener, and a bunch of chopped strawberries. I prepped the oatmeal mixture last night (minus the strawberries) so that this morning it was just about taking it out of the fridge, adding the strawberries and eating it. Perfect cold breakfast on a warm summer day!

(Note: next time, I will put the strawberries in the oatmeal to soak overnight.)

Strength Training

After I got a bunch of work done, I attempted at some Strength Training.

The actual program I used was labelled “high interval cardio drills,” however, in the past, these drills included some basic body-weight ST that I thought would be suitable in reintroducing my body back into strength training.

Today’s workout: Sweat + Shape on the Nike App for 30 quick minutes.

A few things:

  1. I was sweating profusely within the first five minutes. In other words, I was already dying during the warm up.
  2. The program had me doing a gazillion push ups in every which way (wide, triceps, full, modified, etc.), which caused my arms to shake for hours afterwards.
  3. I also did a bazillion moves having to do with my butt and now butt is tearfully sore and I’m walking around like I had a good time last night. Heh.
  4. 20 minutes into the program, I decided that there was no way I could make it through the last ten minutes and live to tell about it… And so I DNF’d. 😦

2013-08-12 12.20.05

Did I really used to do the Advanced programs?! Yikes. I must be really out of shape.

At this point, I’m not quite sure if I will try this program again. For one, I promised myself that I would not work out more than an hour a day (outside of stretching), and had I finished the program, I would have 1 hr 15 minutes. Not too bad, but… I’m still deathly afraid of burnout. We will see.

Lunch

Today’s lunch was on the road, so meal #2 for the day had to be super fast:

One of my boxed salads, topped with some rotisserie chicken from last week that I froze and defrosted, and a few spoonfuls of salsa. Easy and satisfying. 😀

Dinner

Dinner tonight was one we hadn’t had in awhile: carne asada!

After many continuous days of fantastic weather, we decided that we needed to fire up the grill, so on our way home we picked up a couple pounds at a local Mexican supermarket. It was another easy meal: throw it on the grill, chop, then serve. A summer in LA isn’t complete without carne asada!

Dinner: carne asada, steamed green beans and Spanish caulifower “rice.” Muy delicioso!

I followed it up with some frozen grapes:

(Does anyone feel like they need to pile themselves with a ton of blankets after eating frozen grapes? Brrr!)

My fiance, on the other hand, followed his dinner up with some dog-wrestling and a round of hot paws/hands:

As you can see, we really live it up here 😉

After today’s shenanigans with the running snafu, a strength training session that almost sent me to an early grave, and driving around for four hours in and around LA, I am bushed! After catching up with some blogs, I am predicting an early trip to my bed.

Hope you had a great start to the week, see ya tomorrow!

2 thoughts on “The ST That Nearly Killed Me

  1. Pingback: Quickie Tuesday | One-Way Ticket to RAWR-ness

  2. Pingback: Tuesday Shenanigans | One-Way Ticket to RAWR-ness

Leave a Reply

