Linner or Dunch?

Hello and Happy Sunday!

We had plans to hike at Runyon Canyon this morning, but when I woke up, my calves, ankles and feet complained even though I wore my compression socks and took an Advil last night. Hmm, sounds to me like an excuse to skip a workout!

And thankfully, Bruno was in the mood to skip too – a rare occasion when he gets a super duper workout in a day before.

IMG_0671

Sidenote: I’ve come a long, long, long way in determining what excuses are valid for skipping and what is not. The last time I ignored signs that indicated that I needed rest, I suffered a Grade 2 tear in my left calf that called for two months of crutches (this happened in 2012). Before that, I went through frequent and uncomfortable bouts of plantar fasciitis. Needless to say, I’ve learned my lesson. When I feel a certain ache in my joints and muscles that are beyond DOMS, I take the day off and rest. Learning this lesson’s helped me prevent injuries by pacing myself when I get too enthusiastic or Type A towards my goals. 🙂

Before I talk about today, let me brief over last night’s YUMMY dinner.

Yesterday’s Lunch/Dinner

Speaking of weekend eats, I want to mention that we eat a little strangely around here on Saturdays and Sundays. We’re the kind of people who prefer to eat very little before a morning workout, so often by the time we are done exercising and ready for breakfast, it’s later in the morning and end up not eating lunch until about 3 pm. Eating lunch later then puts us in a weird timing mode for dinner, which we end up eating just a light snack or so at around 7. So… what really should I call this mean, Linner? Dunch?

As for yesterday’s linner (ha!), we decided to order takeout from one of our favorite restaurants by our house: 26 Beach. The problem? They are known for their burgers – and I wanted one! With a side of handcut fries? Yespleaserightnow.

Fortunately, I was able to talk myself out of it, but it wasn’t easy. It wasn’t until I started perusing their entrees that I remembered how many other delicious options they offer.

I settled on the Teriyaki grilled salmon with a double helping of sauteed vegetables, salad with a drizzle of soy miso dressing, and one slice of French bread. It was actually satisfying! I was happy that there were a ton of veggies on my plate too, because I was starving. As a last-minute decision, I did decide to drop a roll on my plate, but it was only after remembering that my “problem” isn’t so much carbs as it is sugar, so I can do white stuff in moderation.

A couple of hours later, I was feeling snacky again and instead of dipping my hand into our candy drawer, I satisfied the craving by reaching for two servings of frozen grapes I had stashed in my freezer. 

SUCCESS!

Sunday Bunday

I started my morning with a quick walk around the block with Bruno:

IMG_0701

My post-dog-walk coffee from our favorite coffee shop, courtesy of my fiance. I added two tbsp of my favorite soy creamer. Yum!

???????????????????????????????

IMG_0693

For breakfast, we decided to stop in at a local best-kept secret: Pepy’s Galley.

IMG_0702

By the way, Pepy’s Galley was recently featured in a recent episode of Ray Donovan. We were really excited to see it when it popped up onscreen!

My breakfast:

???????????????????????????????

Egg white omelette with spinach, bell peppers and mushrooms with a side of slice tomatoes. I ordered wheat toast, but I ended up being too full. I also happily consumed my fiance’s buttered crusts from his white toast – a real treat for me every weekend.

After breakfast, we did some errands, and then walked the dog again:

And then it’s Dodger baseball time in our living room. Go blue!

As for the rest of today, I once again have big plans for this:

2013-07-28 11.30.37

CANDY CRUSH! Um, I can’t even begin to describe my addiction to this game to you. It’s the reason why I’ve gone to bed later in the last couple of nights and why I dive for my couch the minute I have free time this weekend. Maybe I need help? 😉

See ya tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

