Waffles n More

Last Night’s Dinner

Earlier in the week, I went a little crazy at Costco and bought four gigantic bags of broccoli. I’ve used one so far for the dog’s meals for the week, but that leaves me with three bags. Three! In a slight panic, I steamed up a bunch in the microwave (shake on seasonings, add 2 tbsp water, cover and nuke for 3 minutes 30 seconds and bam!) and paired it up with some rotisserie chicken. Simple, paleo-friendly, delish and best of all – filling.

Zzzz

Unfortunately, I haven’t been sleeping well as of late. It isn’t anything related health-wise, it’s just something that happens when you are in your 30’s I think. Those adult responsibilities stack into worries too quickly and easily!

Last night, I decided to pull out the big guns. In great ambition, I pulled this out:

IMG_0559

Made for babies, but strong enough to put down an adult. 30 minutes later, I was begging for bed and stayed passed out for seven hours straight. Awesome.

Fitness

This morning we awoke to this surprise:

IMG_0574

It actually rained earlier this morning! Being that I live in Southern California, it almost never rains past February or March – though we’ve had more than a few days of rain since this year. It’s a good thing though; it keeps brush from getting too dry and creating fires, which is prevalent at this time of year. Another good thing is that the humidity is so awesome for my skin. My hair though? No so much.

Being that we did a little running every day this week, I was this close to calling today a rest day, but it seems that this guy was ready for action:

???????????????????????????????

How could I say no? So off we went into the thickly humid morning.

???????????????????????????????

Today’s workout was a little more intense than yesterday’s C25k Week One routine. We completed eight intervals of 1:30 minutes running and 1:00 walking. Yeow! By the time we were done, I was a sweaty mess and the dog was busy panting. I call that a success. Here are the stats:

New Picture (6)

Again, if you biggefy, you will see that my furry champ really enjoys running uphill. The crazy part of it though is that he prefers to walk downhill. Hilarious mutt. 🙂

What was great about this particular interval workout is that it used to put my dog to sleep for the rest of the day, but now not only has he mastered it, he also takes like five less naps a day. In fact, no more than an hour after we were done with the workout, he was running crazily in the backyard. I take this as a sign to take it up a notch starting Monday!

After the cardio session, I pulled out my yoga mat for some good stretching time. Remember when my dog decided to sleep on me right as I was doing the butterfly? Today, both my cats decided to use that time to visit.

It started like this:

IMG_0580

(That’s Zack on the left and Mya on the right)

Zack left and so I thought I was on my own again to stretch:

IMG_0582

But then this happened:

???????????????????????????????

And then this:

IMG_0583

Apparently I didn’t get the memo that stretching time should be spent with furry friends. 🙂

Breakfast

IMG_0562

Toasted hazelnut flavored coffee with two delicious tablespoons of Silk soy creamer. Perfect for this rainy morning.

IMG_0590

I’ve been on a bit of a waffle kick lately, so I took part of yesterday’s recipe for Cinnamon Apple Overnight Oats and made an apple-Greek-yogurt blend to top my Kashi whole grain waffles. Here’s a quick recipe:

Cinnamon Apple Greek Yogurt Waffle Topping

  • Half an apple, diced
  • 4 oz Greek yogurt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon (more or less according to your taste)
  • 1 tsp honey (more or less according to your taste)
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  1. Combine diced apple, cinnamon, honey and vanilla extract in a microwave-safe bowl and stir well. Microwave covered for one minute. <– this will give the apple a more “baked” taste/texture
  2. Add Greek yogurt and stir until well combined.
  3. Top waffles and enjoy! (Hint: add chia seeds for extra staying power)

Lunch

Mmm, how about a BIG salad filled with spinach, bell peppers, shredded carrots, tomatoes and topped with raisins! Add rotisserie chicken for protein and salsa for pizzazz.

TGIF

That’s right, it’s FRIIIIDAY – the day I’ve looked forward to since Monday. 😉

Here are my goals for the weekend:

  • Hikes with the dog on Saturday and Sunday
  • Healthy egg white veggie omelettes for breakfast, fruit for snacks and meals consisting of protein + veggies.
  • No splurges – I need to at least get through this weekend of eating whole foods to detox all the crap I ate before Day One
  • Stay hydrated! 8+ cups of water per day
  • Remember to stretch after weekend workouts

A few things I’m planning for next week:

  1. Wake up earlier. Egh.
  2. Weigh in on Wednesday morning. 😀
  3. New cardio routine for the dog and I MWF. Right now, my tentative plan is to do a slightly modified Couch to 5k Week 3 plan. Instead of two intervals of running/walking 1:30 and running/walking 3:00 minutes, I’m considering doing three. Currently we run for a total of 12 minutes a day; using the 10% rule, we should be increasing to a maximum of 13.2 minutes max. When you calculate the run times for my modified version of Week 3, it comes up to 13.5 minutes.
  4. Create a new strength routine. My current (very sad!) routine includes only one 1-min plank and one 1-min superman a day. Current considerations include using my Nike Training Club app again (awesome!)
  5. A strategy to eat healthy at Wednesday night’s baseball game
  6. A hair appointment next Friday! Nothing like a new ‘do to encourage me along this road.

And in the near future:

  1. I’d like to brush the dust off my recumbent bike and get my quads in order TTh
  2. Start the 100 Push Up program again. The last time I did this program, I reached 75 push ups or so and decided that I was bored and quit. I still agree that it’s boring, but I can’t argue its effectiveness – and the mad guns I end up with!
  3. Eventually I might want to start running alone without the dog, then when I return, run with the dog. Sounds ambitious, but my dog tends to run really slow; I feel this is the only way I can get myself tuned up for races. 🙂

That’s it for now, see ya tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

