Run 500 miles in 2009: Apr. 5-11

“The miracle is that I locked away everything I had previously thought about myself and my abilities and showed up.” – John “The Penguin” Bingham, Running For Mortals, p.220

Week’s Summary: This week’s long run at 8 miles will mark the LONGEST run I have ever attempted in my little life! Whereas it’s a big deal to me now, what’s funny is that in my marathon plans, 8 miles will be the longest run I’ll be doing in my rest week. It will be an interesting day when I soon will say “I only have an 8-miler today.” Optimistically thinking, if 8 miles is doable, then who says 10 miles isn’t??? And stretching it even further, the marathon would only be 16 miles longer than the 8 miles. Slowly but surely, I’m getting there!


Date Type Target Pace Target Miles Time Done Miles Done Notes
Sun 5
Mon 6 Long Easy 8 mi 1:29:01 8.35 mi HOT temps! Drank tons of water. Gu helped. Knee hurt but helped w/attn to posture. 10+ min stretching after, followed by cold bath.
Tue 7
Wed 8 Short Easy 4 mi 44:05 4.15 mi So sleepy, ran anyway. Perfect temps. Took it slooow. Great run, no pain!
Thu 9
Fri 10 Short Easy 3 mi 34:00 3.45 mi Tired b4 run, but felt STRONG! Spent some time in 6:50-7MM.  Took extra time walking today during breaks.
Sat 11


Week’s Target Mileage: 15 miles
Week’s Completed Mileage: 15.95 miles
Month to Date: 31.16 miles For simplicity, Mar. 29-May 2 will be considered a month
Year to Date: 85.51 miles
Miles to 500: 417.9 miles


Conclusion:

Leave a Reply

