OHR: Week 3, Day 1 & 2

Day 1

Lesson: When taking any amount of time off from running (especially when you have a nasty stomach virus), EASE back into it by shortening the distance AND/OR going at a slower pace.

Lucky me got to learn this lesson firsthand Saturday. Instead of slowing my pace, I decided to be an ass and fly my way through it, hence sending me almost to the point of asphyxiation from my lovely exercised-induced asthma, even though I prepped the run with two different inhalers beforehand. Because I can be an ignorant dope, I chose not to carry my emergency fast-acting inhaler with me and had to crawl home after the 30 instead of finishing out with the regular two intervals I like to tack on at the end.

Lesson learned.

Run Intervals:
Set 1: 30:07 – 3.43 miles @ 8:47 min/mi
Total: 30:07 min and 3:43 miles

Day 2

I typically fear running after a traumatizing one, but this time I was amped and ready to tackle and overcome it.

I didn’t do too bad, especially when you consider that I did Day 1 only yesterday. My throat got very dry at a few points (from my inhalers?), but luckily I had a lot of spit in my mouth to swallow (ewww). Towards the end, sharp cramps settled in on the right and I was thankful when the 30 minutes finally ended. Breathing exercises helped to dull it, but after Saturday’s fiasco, I decided to the smart thing and listen to my body, and decided to do two ten minute intervals afterwards instead of the ten minutes and then the twelve.

I’m excited to conclude Week 3 with a sunrise run on Tuesday, because Week 4 is where the action begins! I’m planning on running 4 days a week versus 3, so I may add in an extra 30 minute block run to accommodate.

Run Intervals:
Set 1: 30:07 – 3.36 miles @ 8:58 min/mi
Set 2: 10:00 – 1.07 miles @ 9:21 min/mi
Set 3: 10:00 – 1.07 miles @ 9:21 min/mi
Total: 50:07 min and 5.50 miles

Leave a Reply

